News Release from City of York Council Labour Group

Immediate Release: 15th May, 2024

Council Leader confirms new Executive

Council Leader Cllr Claire Douglas today confirms her new Executive, with a reshuffle undertaken following the successful election of a Labour Mayor for the region.

The appointment of Cllr Jo Coles to the role of Deputy Mayor for Police, Fire and Crime for York and North Yorkshire has created a vacancy to which Cllr Lucy Steels-Walshaw has been appointed. Cllr Steels-Walshaw has significant experience working with vulnerable adults in support services in the city – areas that fall within her new portfolio of Health, Wellbeing and Adult Social Care.

And in a move that recognises the significance of transport and economic growth in the new Mayoral landscape, the two responsibilities have been separated to provide added capacity to make York’s case, and to work with the Mayoral Combined Authority, to get the best possible outcomes for York.  Established Executive Member Cllr Kate Ravilious, an experienced campaigner in transport, will take on the transport brief, with Deputy Council Leader Cllr Pete Kilbane leading on economic growth.

Elsewhere, the council’s youngest councillor, Anna Baxter, will step up to work on the Equalities, Human Rights and Inclusion agenda in a new job-share arrangement with finance lead, Cllr Katie Lomas.

Council Leader Cllr Claire Douglas said:

“I’m pleased to be able to confirm my Executive for the next 12 months and look forward to building on the real achievements of the past year.  Labour is delivering on a number of key manifesto pledges and making good progress on many others.

 “I’m confident with the team we have we’ll continue to make great stridesThe financial picture remains extremely tough and we’re showing, despite this, we can still deliver positive results for the people of York. Structuring Executive as I have leaves us best positioned to take advantage of the opportunities presented by the new York and North Yorkshire Combined Authority, including the £540m in devolved Mayoral Investment Funding coming in to our region.

 “I’d like to thank Jo for the fantastic work she’s done in tackling some embedded issues within adult social care, her skills, insight and being a fantastic colleague to work with.  Her new role is well deserved and I look forward to continuing to work with her as she remains a city councillor and local champion for Westfield ward.

 “I also welcome Lucy and Anna to the Executive team and look forward to what they will offer the team and city in two vital areas of the council’s responsibilities”.



Cllr Claire Douglas – Leader, City of York Council –  Tel: 07841 514518


 Notes to Editors:

The new Executive for 2024-25, effective from the Annual Council meeting next Thursday:

Leader of the Council and Executive Member for Policy, Strategy and Partnerships –  Councillor Claire Douglas, with responsibilities for:

  • Policy, Strategy and Partnerships
  • Communications and Media
  • Legal, Democratic and Civic Support
  • Regional and National Matters
  • Emergency Planning
  • Armed Forces Covenant

Deputy Leader of the Council and Executive Member for Economy and Culture  – Councillor Peter Kilbane, with responsibilities for:

  • Economic Development and Strategy
  • Regeneration
  • Tourism
  • High Streets
  • Business Friendly Council and Business Support
  • Skills Development and Apprenticeships
  • Leisure and Sport
  • Arts, Music, Culture and Heritage
  • Libraries
  • Adult Education and Lifelong Learning

Executive Members for Finance, Performance, Major Projects, Human Rights, Equality and Inclusion – Councillor Katie Lomas and Anna Baxter (job-share), with responsibilities for:

  • Customer Services
  • Bereavement and Registrar
  • Human Resources and Payroll
  • Human Rights, Equalities and Inclusion
  • ICT
  • Information Management
  • Financial Management and Strategy
  • Investment and Commercialisation
  • Financial Procedures and Risk Management
  • Financial Inclusion
  • Performance and Business Assurance
  • Procurement Services and Commissioning
  • Fraud
  • Asset Management
  • Operational Accommodation
  • Facilities Management
  • Health and Safety Operational Standards
  • Major Project delivery – Finance and Programme management

Executive Member for Housing, Planning and Safer Communities – Councillor Michael Pavlovic, with responsibilities for:

  • Community Consultation and Engagement
  • Ward Committees
  • Community Centres
  • Volunteering
  • Parish Council Liaison
  • Planning Policy, Conservation and Urban Design
  • Neighbourhood Planning
  • Planning and Development Management
  • Building Control
  • Housing
  • Tenant Engagement
  • Homelessness
  • Community Safety and Safer Neighbourhoods
  • Safer York Partnership
  • Police liaison
  • Anti-Social Behaviour
  • Community Cohesion
  • Prevent

Executive Member for Transport – Councillor Kate Ravilious, with responsibilities for:

  • Civil Engineering and Highways
  • Cycling Infrastructure
  • Parking Services and Parking Strategy
  • Transport Strategy
  • Travel Planning
  • Highways Strategy
  • Taxi Licensing (in conjunction with Chair of Licensing)
  • Street Lighting
  • Digital Infrastructure
  • Local, Regional and National Transport Infrastructure
  • Fleet Management

Executive Member for Children, Young People and Education – Councillor Bob Webb, with responsibilities for:

  • Children’s Social Care
  • School Improvement and Organisation
  • Children and Families
  • Early Intervention and Local Area Teams
  • Youth Support Services
  • School Place Planning
  • Children’s Safeguarding
  • Special Educational Needs
  • Children’s Centres and Early Years
  • Youth Offending
  • Poverty

Executive Member for Health, Wellbeing and Adult Social Care – Councillor Lucy Steels-Walshaw, with responsibilities for:

  • Health and Social Care Integration
  • Public Health and Health Inequalities
  • Substance Misuse
  • Mental Health Services
  • Domestic Violence
  • Services for Carers
  • Adult Social Care and Safeguarding
  • Local Area Co-ordination
  • Assessment and Personalisation
  • Residential, Home and Respite Care
  • Older People
  • Learning Disabilities

Executive Member for Environment and Climate Emergency – Councillor Jenny Kent, with responsibilities for:

  • Flood Protection
  • Community Environment
  • Waste Management and Recycling
  • Street Environment
  • Environment Strategy
  • Green Infrastructure and Biodiversity
  • Air Quality
  • Climate Change and Sustainability
  • Energy Transition and Energy Security
  • Parks and Open Spaces
  • Licensing Policy (in conjunction with Chair of Licensing)
  • Regulatory Enforcement
  • Health and Safety Enforcement
  • Public Protection and Trading Standards
  • Environmental Health and Food Hygiene


Cllr Claire Douglas, Labour Group Leader:  07841 514518

Nick Wharton, Political Assistant to the Labour Group: 07593 528214


Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search